A Taste of My Travels: Spencer Makenzie’s Fish Co in Ventura, CA

Ahi Pockets

Pockets of Love, and Ahi

I know I have been terrible about updating in the past few months, but my life has been slightly nomadic.  Almost immediately after graduating from NYU in December, I embarked on the first of a series of exciting journeys around the world; I spent January and February backpacking through Australia and New Zealand, which was unbelievably fun.  Since returning to the States, I’ve been making quite a few trips domestically.  Most recently, I spent time in San Francisco, Ventura, Denver and Austin.  I’m passionate about traveling for a lot of reasons, but succumbing to gluttony trying new foods/restaurants is undoubtedly one of my favorite parts.  Suffice it to say, I have eaten supremely well in essentially every city I’ve visited in these past couple of months.  Oddly enough, one of my most memorable and delectable meals was in perhaps one of the more unlikely places–in adorable Ventura, California.

Shrimp Wontons

Shrimp Wontons with extra Fire Sauce!

Spencer Makenzie’s Fish Company is the kind of place you dream about while watching Diners, Drive-ins and Dives.  The little shack’s divey, unassuming exterior may not reveal it, but Spencer Makenzie’s has some of the freshest and most delicious seafood ever.  Best part?  It’s ridiculously cheap.  While pretty much everything on the menu can be categorized as yummy and budget-friendly, the Ahi Pockets are a revelation.  The Ahi Pocket consists of a mildly sweet tofu pocket stuffed with sushi rice, topped with “Dynamite” sauce & blackened Ahi tuna.  The pockets are $3.25 a piece, although it would be foolish not to get two of them–not because they aren’t filling, but because they’re too good and too cheap not to (YOLO).  The Wontons, which are $5, are also rad city.  These little puppies are filled with shrimp and cream cheese, and topped with a sweet and spicy sauce. I suggest getting extra Fire Sauce, because it is spicy, sensational and tastes good on just about anything.  Ventura may be small, but it is a powerhouse when it comes to cheap, awesome food.

If you ever get the chance, Ventura is only about an hour away from LA, and is well worth visiting.  If not for the beautiful beaches or cozy antique/vintage store-packed downtown, then at least for the superior budget eats.  Lucky for me, I’ve got a sister and a canine nephew calling me back there, so my next Ahi Pocket is always just a few months away!

http://www.smfishco.com/ 

Sharky puppy

My gorgeous nephew, Shark

Spencer Makenzie's Fish Company on Urbanspoon

About mmosner

I'm Mallory Mosner, and I'm a Seattle native making it big in New York City. I currently attend New York University, where I double-major in Communications and Anthropology. When I'm not in class or interning, I love exploring the city. I have a passion for food, and I love trying new restaurants around the city.
This entry was posted in California, Seafood, Ventura and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

