Sweet Deals at OatMeals in the West Village

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Oatmeal’s Pumpkin Pie Halloween Costume

See, this is why I love Manhattan.  Themed restaurants galore.  I would take a themed restaurant over a themed party any day; this is the kind of shenanigan that really gets me going.  When I discovered that a precious little oatmeal-themed resto opened up right near the NYU campus, I was overcome with joy.  I’ve got to hand it to them, if any food deserves its own shop, it’s oatmeal.  So props to the folks of OatMeals NYC for developing such a wonderful and completely necessary concept–and especially for doing so in an adorably locavore manner.

As you can imagine, when oatmeal is the star of the menu, the possibilities are endless.  Who knew oatmeal was such a culinary chameleon?  Don’t knock oatmeal until you try OatMeals NYC, because they’ve got a little fun for everybody.  Oatmeal-themed pastries, sandwiches on fresh-baked oatmeal bread, sweet oatmeal, savory oatmeal, customizable oatmeal, OATMEAL GALORE!  There are three sizes–8 oz, 12 oz, and 16 oz, naturally entitled “Baby Bear,” “Mama Bear” and “Papa Bear” respectively.  And prices are very fair.  Baby Bears start at $3.50, Mamas $4.50, and Papas $5.50.  Add-ins for the customizable options range from $0.25-$0.50 a piece, and milk and spices are free.  The add-in list is massive–all of the nuts and fruits and sweet and savory appendages you could dream of.  Awesome for a cheap brekkie or lunch.  And they’ve got great coffee, tea and juices available as well.

I will vouch for the Pumpkin Pie oatmeal.  It was the perfect fall morning breakfast.  It made me want to wear a festive sweater and spend the day in a pumpkin patch.  Included in this delectable creation was pumpkin purée swirl, pecans, brown sugar, pumpkin spice, and milk.  In an attempt to make my oatmeal a little healthier (a rare moment indeed), I skipped out on the brown sugar and added some flax seed for $0.50.  The medium size cost $5, and it was way too much food.  The $4 small would have easily been more than enough food.  But I was extraordinarily pleased with my $5.50 breakfast.  It may have been because I skipped the brown sugar, but this was not too sweet at all.  It was perfect, texturally and flavor-wise.  An ideal fall breakfast.

If sweet oatmeal ain’t yo thang, try some of the savory options like The Canadian, with bacon, sharp cheddar cheese, roasted apples, maple syrup, and sea salt.  Or the Fig & Gorgonzola, with dried figs, crumbled gorgonzola, and balsamic vinegar glaze.  If you’re all about the super-sweet, ch-ch-check out the S’mores Oatmeal with dark chocolate chips, mini marshmallows, graham crackers, chocolate syrup drizzle.  For serious you guys, there are so many options to delicious-ify your oatmeal, it’s absurd.  And the people behind the counter are the sweetest.  They will gladly give you advice about flavor combos and guide you through the oatmeal abyss towards your perfect concoction. 

Oatmeal-scoffers, you would be well-advised to give the breakfast staple another shot at OatMeals.  Chances are, these folks can dress it up in a way that even oat-haters will appreciate.

http://www.oatmealsny.com/

OatMeals NY on Urbanspoon

About mmosner

I'm Mallory Mosner, and I'm a Seattle native making it big in New York City. I currently attend New York University, where I double-major in Communications and Anthropology. When I'm not in class or interning, I love exploring the city. I have a passion for food, and I love trying new restaurants around the city.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, New York City, West Village and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

