Cheap Meals in Chelsea Market

Chelsea Market is a foodie’s paradise.  In my eyes, a city is really only as good as its token food market.  Okay, there may be a few exceptions, but my favorite cities in the world also happen to have the most incredible food markets.  London has the Borough Market,  Barcelona has La Boqueria, San Francisco has the Ferry Building Marketplace, and Seattle has Pike Place.  Appropriately, Chelsea Market is upscale, elegant and over-the-top in a way that only New York City could pull off.   Located just above the trendy Meatpacking District, Chelsea Market is a chic mash-up of some of the most delicious eats in New York City.  The best part?  It is refreshingly easy to eat well there without cleaning out your savings account.  I have the privilege to be interning at Food Network this semester, which is literally located a few floors above the market.  For me, this has been dangerous amazing.  A busy schedule and four days a week of eating out for lunch can be financially challenging.  However, I have a proclivity towards delicious food and delicious bargains, so I have made it my business to scour the market for the best value eats.  With that, in two parts, I will share a few food highlights with you!

Fig and Grilled Cheese

One of the greatest grilled cheeses in all of New York City!

The fig and cheddar grilled cheese from Lucy’s Whey is a game- changer, to say the least.  With sharp, perfect Prairie Breeze cheddar and a smattering of rich fig on a fresh pressed ciabatta, this sandwich is a dreamy combination of sweet and salty.  And at just $6, it is an absolute STEAL!  Lucy’s Whey makes this sandwich daily, alongside a “special” sandwich that changes each day.  Always under $10, a Lucy’s Whey grilled cheese is always a bargain–and a scrumptious one, at that.

Sarabeth's Tomato Soup

Velvety Tomato Soup from Sarabeth's

Next up, famous Sarabeth’s creamy tomato soup.  I fell in love with Sarabeth’s tomato soup at the Central Park location my freshman year.  Ever since, I’ve been absolutely addicted.  When I discovered that there was a Chelsea Market location of Sarabeth’s, I was ecstatic.  Even more so when I realized that they sold many of their token menu items at much lower prices in the market location.  For just $5.50, you can get a big cup of hot, creamy, cheesy, chunky tomato soup and a fresh-baked biscuit.  This is the perfect cheap lunch for a cold New York day.

The Lobster Place Salmon Sandwich

Delicious Smoked Salmon Sandwich from The Lobster Place

Finally, a delicious salmon sandwich from The Lobster Place.  The Lobster Place has fantastically fresh and flavorful seafood.  My favorite sandwich is the Smoked Salmon Baguette, which features vodka-dill smoked salmon, capers, scallion cream cheese, and potato chips on an Amy’s baguette.  There are literally potato chips on this sandwich, and they give it a lovely crunch.  The diverse textures and flavors combined with the utter freshness of all of the ingredients (Amy’s Bread is just right next door!) makes this sandwich a delectable steal at just $8.95.

Tune in for the “Part 2” Chelsea Market post in the next week or two!

www.chelseamarket.com

About mmosner

I'm Mallory Mosner, and I'm a Seattle native making it big in New York City. I currently attend New York University, where I double-major in Communications and Anthropology. When I'm not in class or interning, I love exploring the city. I have a passion for food, and I love trying new restaurants around the city.
This entry was posted in New York City and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

