Salad, Sandwich and Pizzetta at Purple Cafe and Wine Bar

A long way from Lean Pockets...

Trendily popping up in locations around Seattle, Purple Cafe and Wine Bar has long been on my “To Eat” list, though the prices have deterred me from making my way out there.  I did a little research, however, and discovered that Purple offers some pretty rad lunch deals (my fave!).  I hit it up for lunch today, and my experience was truly majestic.

Purple is a gorgeous resturant that features classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.  The Bellevue location boasts uniquely bold and modern architecture; the sight of the tall, chic wine bar alone is breathtaking.  With a colossal wine menu, a trendy but laid back atmosphere and extraordinarily flavorful dishes, Purple is a magnet for foodies, businesspeople, and booming nightlife.

Purple titles their lunch special “a bit of this… a bit of that…” which appeals to those of us who are slightly indecisive (and like to eat anything and everything possible).  There are a few variations of the offer, including a soup and salad for $12, a pizzetta or sandwich and soup or salad for $13, or any three items for $18–bingo.  The three-item selection is a bullseye for sharing; you will leave with a satisfied belly and soul, and if you go splitsies, that’s only $9 per person for an upscale gourmet meal.  I split a trio with a friend, and we selected the apple, candied walnut and stilton salad, the turkey and havarti sandwich, and the artichoke & pancetta pizzetta.

The salad and pizzetta blew my mind.  The turky and havarti sandwich was yummy, but next time I might go with the Crispy Falafel sandwich instead.  The salad was doused with a rich champagne vinaigrette, which made the bold flavor of the stilton cheese really pop.  The pizzetta was delicious to an extent that borders on surreal.  The American twist on an Italian classic is a fantastic fusion of goat cheese, confit sweet onion, preserved meyer lemon, black pepper and extra virgin olive oil.  A part of me wishes I got three pizzettas…

You can opt for a tasty and affordable lunch at Purple, or, for those particularly short on cash but heavy on pizzetta cravings, the Bellevue location has happy hour daily from 3:00PM-5:30PM, and pizzettas are only $5 a piece!  If you are a foodie or a wine-lover, I suggest you flock to Purple for lunch or happy hour as soon as possible.

 

 

About mmosner

I'm Mallory Mosner, and I'm a Seattle native making it big in New York City. I currently attend New York University, where I double-major in Communications and Anthropology. When I'm not in class or interning, I love exploring the city. I have a passion for food, and I love trying new restaurants around the city.
This entry was posted in Bellevue, New American and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

