To Cure a Hangover: Williamsburg Edition

We’ve all been there.  Sometimes you have a little too much fun, and the next morning all you need is a perfect hangover cure.  Manhattan is literally overflowing with greasy, eggy and cheesy hangover helpers, but my faves are definitely in Williamsburg.  From the East Village (where I live), Williamsburg is easily accessible.  Plus, it’s quirky, charming, and far cheaper than Manhattan.  My absolute favorite cheap spots for greasy, yummy eats are Whirlybird for breakfast tacos, and Pies N Thighs’ for their legendary chicken biscuit.  If Williamsburg is indeed the hipster capital of the universe, then by God, those hipsters have mastered the art of curing hangovers in the most delicious way possible.  P.S. each of these places is equally wonderful without a hangover–although a certain degree of shamelessness may be required to gobble down the chicken biscuit under normal circumstances.

Not your average breakfast taco

Not your average breakfast taco

Whirlybird kind of represents Williamsburg in a nutshell.  It is a tiny hole-in-the-wall shop serving exclusively organic, gluten-free breakfast tacos and some mean espresso.  Oh, and it doubles as a  record-label gallery (natch).  Eccentric, adorable and affordable–just what the doctor ordered!  The basic Whirlybird breakfast taco involves gooey melted Oaxaca cheese, fluffy scrambled eggs, homemade salsa and is topped with crumbled jalapeno potato chips and a nice sprinkle of cilantro.  Without chorizo, that breakfast taco is just $3, but I definitely suggest adding the chorizo for the extra dollar.  One breakfast taco with chorizo is a really great breakfast, not to mention a generally fulfilling experience.

Whirlybird on Urbanspoon

Chicken biscuit from Pies N Thighs

The harmonious marriage of trashy and gourmet

I first fell in love with Pies N Thighs at the 2011 Time Out New York Annual Food and Drink Awards, when they won “Best Southern Comfort.”  They were sampling their chicken biscuits, and I know I ate an obscene amount of them because I walked past the table multiple times sneaking samples while trying to look coy and curious as if I had yet to try them.  As I said, there has to be a degree of shamelessness involved when you are eating a Pies N Thighs chicken biscuit.  Anyways, the chicken biscuit is really baller.  This ingenious creation encompasses a juicy fried chicken cutlet atop a warm, buttery biscuit with hot sauce and honey butter.  It’s simultaneously sweet, salty and spicy, but more than anything, it is just the utmost manifestation of comfort food.  Very filling and guaranteed to solve your problems, no matter what they are (unless your problem is obesity).

 Pies 'n' Thighs on Urbanspoon

I am 100% obsessed with Williamsburg.  As much as I complain about hipsters, they have created a cheap food paradise in Williamsburg.  If you are anywhere near the L train (or even if you’re not), I highly suggest taking advantage of what Williamsburg has to offer, foodwise.  Whether you are hungover, poor or just love walking in cutesy neighborhoods, Williamsburg has got just what you need.

About mmosner

I'm Mallory Mosner, and I'm a Seattle native making it big in New York City. I currently attend New York University, where I double-major in Communications and Anthropology. When I'm not in class or interning, I love exploring the city. I have a passion for food, and I love trying new restaurants around the city.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Brooklyn, Brunch, Mexican, New American and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

