The Best Macaroni and Cheese in New York

Beecher's other-worldly mac and cheese

Creamy, bold, sumptuous and cheesy

Best macaroni and cheese in New York?!  “Bold statement,” you may be thinking.  Bold statement, indeed.  Bold, but accurate.  I happen to be shamelessly obsessed with cheese.  One might say that cheese is the axis upon which my world spins.  Bottom line, I believe that a solid macaroni and cheese is one of the most comforting and beautiful gifts of life.  That said, one of my absolute favorites is the classic “World FamousBeecher’s Mac & Cheese.  Part of my anxiety in relocating to New York from Seattle several years ago was due to the fact that I had to part with my beloved Beecher’s Flagship cheese.  And then the unthinkable happened—they opened a Beecher’s in Flatiron.  Aside from consequently making me wonder if I ever need to leave New York now, the new shop opened a window of opportunity for delicious cheesy eats, new and classic.

The Cellar, which is the chic downstairs 21+ foodie lair of Beecher’s NY, is home to gourmet spin-offs of the classic mac ‘n’ cheese, while the upstairs café offers quicker, more affordable bites.  While such offerings as the Fig and Beecher’s Flagship grilled cheese ($7) and those delectable cheese twists-or breadzels ($3.50) are tantalizing, I find it nearly impossible to pass up the macaroni and cheese.  At $5.50 for an 8-ounce cup (note to all: don’t taste test and then think you need a 16-ounce… We’ve all been there), this is a delightfully cheap, fresh and sultry lunch option.  Beecher’s Flagship is an oaky, nutty, sharp and bold homage to cheddar that contributes to the creamiest, tangiest and most transcendental macaroni and cheese imaginable.  Take home a bigger cup for dinner, or just buy one of the frozen pre-made Beecher’s mac ‘n’ cheeses if you find yourself smitten.  I can’t even do Beecher’s “World Famous Mac & Cheese” justice with an explanation.  You need to taste it yourself—even Oprah considered it one of her “Ultimate Favorite Things” in her final season.  That’s how ya know this stuff is the real deal.

www.beechershandmadecheese.com 

Beecher's New York Cafe on Urbanspoon

About mmosner

I'm Mallory Mosner, and I'm a Seattle native making it big in New York City. I currently attend New York University, where I double-major in Communications and Anthropology. When I'm not in class or interning, I love exploring the city. I have a passion for food, and I love trying new restaurants around the city.
This entry was posted in Flatiron, New York City, Seattle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Macaroni and Cheese in New York

  1. I highly agree with this assessment :)

  2. Michelle says:

    I love the mac & cheese from Eatery and also from Melissa’s on Broadway and 62nd (I think? It’s a small, unremarkable deli, but they have great mac & cheese!). (I lived in NY for 6 years if that gives me any street cred :))

    • mmosner says:

      Aww mac and cheese from Eatery is indeed delish!! And I’ll have to try Melissa’s–I’m always down for good mac n cheese hunting. Which reminds me, The Smith has a surprisingly fantastic mac too! I just had dinner but am somehow hungry again now… :(

Leave a Reply

