Chelsea Market Munching Continued

Here we are at Round 2 of the Chelsea Market cheap meal marathon.  Having already introduced the fabulous market in my previous post, let’s just jump right in!

Jewish comfort food at its best

Matzo Ball and Brussels Sprout Symphony

Friedman’s Lunch.  My oasis.  This is usually where I eat lunch 90% of the time in the market.  Why?  Because it’s obscenely good, and very reasonably priced (depending on what you order).  I am particularly keen on the menu items pictured above: the Friedman’s Matzo Ball Soup ($4/cup), and the Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Honey and Pecorino ($5).  Friedman’s soups are all insanely good (I love me some Friedman’s turkey chili!), but my inner Jew simply cannot resist a well-done matzo ball soup.  It’s light but hearty, perfectly salty, chock full of fresh dill, and contains just the right amount of chicken.  And the matzo balls are just like your bubby [perhaps] made them.  The Brussels sprouts are an adventure.  They warrant applause because they are so delicious.  What can I even add?  Shaved Brussels sprouts with honey and pecorino speak for themselves.  And when they speak, angels sing.

Friedman's Lunch on Urbanspoon

Some of the best Mexican food in NYC--and from a cart!!

Sautéed Chicken in Tamarind Sauce, Topped with Cotija Cheese

As a Best West Coast native, I will be the first to admit that the NYC Mexi-food scene is ever-so-slightly lagging.  However, Tacombi is a beautiful counter to that theory (and so is Dos Toros if you’re on the prowl for cheap delish Mexican food!).  With their main location in SoHo, it pleases me to grab some tacos from their precious little cart tucked away in Chelsea Market.  Not only do I adore gourmet food carts, but these babies are so cheap!  I opted for two classic chicken tacos, and was set back only $4 for both!  For the extra hungry, grab a side of rice and black beans for another $4.  Tacombi does not accept any nonsense, topping-wise.  In other words, don’t expect a side of sour cream and guacamole.  Do expect an explosion of flavor, fresh ingredients and great value.  Also, they except credit cards, which is very advanced for a food cart.  Well played!

Tacombi at Fonda Nolita on Urbanspoon

Savory pie, Brussels sprouts, and homemade soda.

Lentil Vegetable Australian Savory Pie and Other Goodies

Last but not least, the Aussie pie shop, Tuck Shop.  With 4 locations throughout Manhattan, it is clear that those Aussies are really onto something here.  These savory pies are so flavorful, and a steal at just $6!  I would recommend accompanying your pie of choice (p.o.c., if you will) with either the kale salad ($5) or the Brussels sprouts ($4).  Be warned however, that while the Brussels sprouts are delicious, they are saltier than the Dead Sea.  Have some water handy.  Or better yet, grab one of their LIFE-CHANGING homemade sodas ($3).  I opted for elderberry, and I was very content with my decision.  The pies have perfectly crispy, flakey and buttery crust, and are chock full of hearty ingredients that will leave you with a full belly.  I went down the Vegetable Lentil Pie route, but there are several wild and yummy flavors like BBQ Pork Pie, or, for the truly brave, a Guinness Steak and Mushroom Pie.  Definitely a good choice for great lunch with a lot of character!

Tuck Shop on Urbanspoon

www.chelseamarket.com

About mmosner

I'm Mallory Mosner, and I'm a Seattle native making it big in New York City. I currently attend New York University, where I double-major in Communications and Anthropology. When I'm not in class or interning, I love exploring the city. I have a passion for food, and I love trying new restaurants around the city.
This entry was posted in New York City and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

